Buying a car online?

The retail car industry has been one of the last industries to fully embrace e-commerce

Lexus

Buying a car online

As the retail car industry has developed there is more choice than ever for buying a car online.

Smart dealers are now embracing e-commerce, but where are buyers going when they search online?

Which websites rank for ‘buying a car online’

Over 12,000 searches per month

With over 12,000 searches per month, which car websites are ranking best?

Our report lists the top 100 websites that rank for ‘buy a car online’.

It is updated regularly.

HRN Tractors

Sports Therapy Scotland

Stirling Dental Care

Stirling University

The retail car industry has been one of the last industries to fully embrace ecommerce, but that is no longer the case.

The coronavirus pandemic has resulted in many businesses that did not traditionally see themselves as ‘online car businesses’ having to embrace digital change – and quickly.

There are very few car dealerships that don’t offer some aspects of ecommerce and at the very least a hybrid solution.

We are starting to see (as happened with other industries) consumers and dealers becoming more comfortable with purchasing and selling a car online, or at least part of the transaction beginning online (e.g. researching or booking a car) – with the deal then finalised in the dealership.

This trend has increased because of covid-19 which had accelerated the move to ecommerce and we are seeing suppliers to the industry offering tools and resources free to help dealers make the transition to ecommerce.

Understanding consumer behaviour online is a key element for car dealers in reaching out to potential customers who are searching online.

To gain some insight into how the market currently sits let’s consider a simple search phrase that a potential customer would key into Google – ‘Buy a car online’.

‘Buy a car online’ is currently typed into Google approximately 12,000 times per month or 120,000 times per year in the UK.

At current prices, it costs approximately £3.50 to purchase a click for this phrase to your car dealer website from Google.

We will look at search volumes on mobile phones, in particular, as the mobile phone audience is by far the biggest audience by device for searching for cars.

With the top ten positions taking over 95% of those 12,000 searches – ranking high in search has never been more crucial to online success.

Ochil Cleaning Services

Ochil Eyes Optician

Highland Wagyu

Alloa Van Services

Misted Double Glazing

Argylls Museum

Stirling Luxury Apartments

Alloa Van Services

Which car dealer websites rank for ‘Buy a car online’?

The following table is a list of the top 100 websites that rank for the phrase ‘buy a car online’ in Google.

‘Buy a Car Online’ Top 100

wdt_ID Rank Trend Name Type SEO Title Website Update
1 1 No Movement Cazoo Car Dealer Cazoo https://cazoo.co.uk/ Remains at number one
2 3 Up Buy a Car Car Dealer https://www.buyacar.co.uk http://www.buyacar.co.uk/cars/used-cars/475/buying-a-used-car-online
4 5 Up Car Supermarket Car Dealer https://www.carsupermarket.com/ https://www.carsupermarket.com/
5 7 Down Bristol Street Motors Car Dealer Buy a Car Online with Click2Drive – Bristol Street Motors http://www.bristolstreet.co.uk/buy-online/
7 9 Down Carwow Car Buying Comparison Site carwow | The free, easy way to change your car online http://www.carwow.co.uk/
12 101 The Car Expert Advice Website How to buy a car online | Car buying advice | The Car Expert http://www.thecarexpert.co.uk/how-to-buy-a-car-online/
13 58 Down Parkers Price Guide How to buy a new car online | Parkers How to buy a new car online
15 15 Car Store Car Dealer Hello, Welcome to Car Store! http://www.carstore.com/
16 11 Up The AA Car Rescue Used Cars for sale | Second hand cars for sale | AA Cars http://www.theaa.com/used-cars/ Moved up from very low position
17 29 Down What Car Online Magazine New Car Deals | Buy cars online with What Car? | What Car? http://www.whatcar.com/new-car-deals
18 101 Auto Village Car Dealer Used Car – Search over 400,000 Used Cars for Sale http://www.autovillage.co.uk/used-car Dropped from 18 to outside the top 100
19 19 The AA Car Rescue Used Cars for sale | Second hand cars for sale | AA Cars http://www.theaa.com/used-cars/
20 20 Citizen’s Advice Advice Guide Buying a used car http://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/consumer/buying-or-repairing-a-car/buying-a-used-car/
21 58 Down Parkers Price Guide How to buy a new car online | Parkers http://www.parkers.co.uk/car-finance/advice/how-to-buy-a-car-online/
22 22 Autocar Online Magazine How to buy a car during a pandemic | Autocar http://www.autocar.co.uk/car-news/features/how-buy-car-during-pandemic
23 59 Down Which Magazine Advice Guide Where to buy a car – Which? http://www.which.co.uk/reviews/new-and-used-cars/article/where-to-buy-a-car Dropped down to 59 from 23
24 24 The Car Sales Company Car Dealer Buy Online – The Car Sales Company http://www.thecarsalescompanybury.co.uk/buy-online/
25 25 Toyota Manufacturer Buy a Toyota Vehicle Online | Toyota UK http://www.toyota.co.uk/buy-online
26 26 We Buy Any Car Sell My Car | Buy My Car | webuyanycar.com http://www.webuyanycar.com/
27 27 Popular Mechanics The 7 Best Sites to Buy and Sell Your Car Online http://www.popularmechanics.com/cars/a16593/best-sites-to-sell-your-car-online/
28 28 Financial Times Newspaper Time to buy a car? Industry hopes for coronavirus silver lining … http://www.ft.com/content/488d5886-c6af-4e80-a479-36aca26edd1d
29 29 Money Savings Expert Advice Guide 20+ tips for buying a new car http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/car-finance/buying-new-car/
30 30 Auto Coin Cars Car Dealer Auto Coin Cars| Buy cars with Bitcoin http://www.autocoincars.com/
31 31 Car Buyer How can I buy a car during the coronavirus restrictions … http://www.carbuyer.co.uk/tips-and-advice/172470/how-can-i-buy-a-car-during-the-coronavirus-restrictions
32 32 Mitsubishi Motors Manufacturer Buying A New Car | Mitsubishi Motors http://www.mitsubishi-motors.co.uk/buy
33 33 Mitsubishi Motors Manufacturer Mitsubishi Buy Online http://buy.mitsubishi-motors.co.uk/
34 34 Telegraph Newspaper How to buy a car online if you don’t want to visit a dealership http://www.telegraph.co.uk/cars/advice/buy-car-online-dont-want-visit-dealership/
35 35 Chorley Group Car Dealer Car Dealer | Lancashire & Wigan | Chorley Group http://www.chorleygroup.co.uk/buying-online/
36 36 John Clark Car Dealer Buy Used Cars Online | Specialist Cars Renault Aberdeen http://www.john-clark.co.uk/renault/buy-online/
37 37 Hyundai Manufacturer Buy a new Hyundai Car Online on our Click to Buy Platform | Hyundai … http://clicktobuy.hyundai.co.uk/
38 38 Narpo Drive NARPOdrive | UK car supermarket | used cars for sale http://www.narpodrive.co.uk/
39 39 The Car Sales Company Car Dealer Buy Online – The Car Sales Company http://www.thecarsalescompanybury.co.uk/buy-online/
40 40 Peugeot Manufacturer How to buy online | PEUGEOT UK http://www.peugeot.co.uk/buy-online/
41 41 We Want Any Car We Want Any Car: Buy My Car | Sell My Car Fast http://www.wewantanycar.com/
42 42 Digital Trends The Best Used Car Websites of 2018 | Digital Trends http://www.digitaltrends.com/cars/best-used-car-websites/
43 43 Parkland Motors Car Dealer Buy your car online – Parkland Motors http://www.parklandmotors.co.uk/buy-your-car-online.php
44 44 Thame Cars Car Dealer Used Car Dealer | Thame near Aylesbury | Thame Cars http://www.thamecars.co.uk/buying-online/
45 45 Wizzle Car Buying Comparison Site Car Buying | Wizzle http://www.wizzle.co.uk/car-buying/
46 12 Up Arnold Clark Car Dealer Click & Collect | Moving cars closer to you | Arnold Clark http://www.arnoldclark.com/click-and-collect
47 47 Peter Vardy Car Dealer Click and Collect Cars, Online Buying Habits | Peter Vardy http://www.petervardy.com/buy-a-car-online
48 48 AM ONline Online Magazine 27% of UK car buyers would purchase online without a test drive … http://www.am-online.com/news/market-insight/2019/06/27/27-of-uk-car-buyers-would-purchase-online-without-a-test-drive
49 49 Digital Trends The Best Used Car Websites of 2018 | Digital Trends http://www.digitaltrends.com/cars/best-used-car-websites/
50 50 Car Dealer Magazine Online Magazine Can I still buy a used car during the coronavirus lockdown … http://cardealermagazine.co.uk/publish/can-still-buy-used-car-coronavirus-lockdown/189569
51 51 The Express Buying new cars: Car sales set to be made online in Amazon … http://www.express.co.uk/life-style/cars/1182554/buying-new-cars-sales-online-order-car-autotrader
52 52 Money Advice Service Advice Guide Where to buy a used car – Money Advice Service http://www.moneyadviceservice.org.uk/en/articles/where-to-buy-a-used-car
53 53 Auto Trader Online Magazine New Cars, Used Cars – Find Cars for Sale and Reviews at Autotrader http://www.autotrader.com/
54 8 Up Evans Halshaw Car Dealer Sell Your Car http://www.evanshalshaw.com/buy-online/
55 55 Popular Mechanics The 7 Best Sites to Buy and Sell Your Car Online http://www.popularmechanics.com/cars/a16593/best-sites-to-sell-your-car-online/
56 56 CNBC How to buy a car without leaving your house during the … http://www.cnbc.com/2020/04/07/how-to-buy-a-car-without-leaving-your-house.html
57 57 Clive Sutton Car Dealer Buy New Car Online UK | Buying Used Cars London – Clive Sutton http://www.clivesutton.co.uk/services/buy-a-car/
58 58 Car Gurus How to Buy a Car Sight Unseen – CarGurus http://www.cargurus.co.uk/Cars/articles/how_to_buy_a_car_sight_unseen
59 59 Clive Sutton Car Dealer Buy New Car Online UK | Buying Used Cars London – Clive Sutton http://www.clivesutton.co.uk/services/buy-a-car/
60 60 Net Imperative Click and Collect Cars? 27% of Brits would buy car online … http://www.netimperative.com/2019/07/05/click-and-collect-cars-27-of-brits-would-buy-car-online-without-test-drive/
61 61 Auto ebid Find the Best New Car Deals and UK Discounts http://www.autoebid.com/
62 62 John Clark Car Dealer Buy Used Cars Online | Specialist Cars Renault Aberdeen http://www.john-clark.co.uk/renault/buy-online/
63 63 Ecars 247 Find my car – eCars247 http://www.ecars247.com/find-my-car
64 64 Car Wizzle Car Buying Comparison Site Car Buying | Wizzle http://www.wizzle.co.uk/car-buying/
65 65 Car Shop Car Dealer https://www.carshop.co.uk/ http://www.carshop.co.uk/
66 66 JC Car Centre Car Dealer Used cars for sale in Newcastle Upon Tyne & Northumberland: We Buy Cars For More http://www.jccarcentre.co.uk/
67 67 AM Online Online Magazine 27% of UK car buyers would purchase online without a test drive … http://www.am-online.com/news/market-insight/2019/06/27/27-of-uk-car-buyers-would-purchase-online-without-a-test-drive
68 68 British Car Auctions Car Auction Buy online – British Car Auctions http://www.british-car-auctions.co.uk/buy/Useful-information/How-to-buy-online/
69 16 Up Macklin Motors Car Dealer Buy Cars Online | Online Car Dealers | Macklin Motors http://www.macklinmotors.co.uk/buy-online/
70 70 Jardine Motors Car Dealer Buy Online – Jardine Motors Group http://www.jardinemotors.co.uk/select/buying-online/
71 71 Exchange and Mart Exchange & Mart: New & Used Cars for Sale Near You http://www.exchangeandmart.co.uk/
72 72 Snows Buy Online – Car Dealers | Southern England | Snows http://www.snows.co.uk/buy-online/
73 73 Slow it Down The 10 Best Websites to Buy and Sell Your Car Online http://www.slowitdown.co.uk/2019/11/14/the-10-best-websites-to-buy-and-sell-your-car-online/
74 74 Car Site Car Dealer Used Car For Sale | Second Hand Cars | CarSite http://www.carsite.co.uk/used-car
75 75 Buy My Car Buy My Car | Prestige Car Buyers You Can Trust http://www.buymycar.com/
76 76 Co Part Car Auction Copart UK: Salvage Car Auctions & Used Vehicles http://www.copart.co.uk/
77 77 Auto Web Web Design Buy Cheap Second Hand Cars, For Sale on Autoweb.co.uk http://www.autoweb.co.uk/
78 78 Croyland Car Megastore Used Car Dealer | Rushden, Northampton | Croyland Car Megastore http://www.croylandcarmegastore.co.uk/buying-online/
79 79 Kia Manufacturer Kia Motors India | Buy Kia Cars Online http://www.kia.com/in/buy/how-it-works.html
80 80 Up Cars Digital Marketplace New Cars, Used Cars, Trucks For Sale, Auto Reviews | Cars.com http://www.cars.com/ The trend is from 80 to a high of 24
81 81 eCars 247 Instant finance – eCars247 http://www.ecars247.com/finance
82 82 Desperate Seller Cheap Cars For Sale | Buy Recently Reduced Cars | Desperate Seller http://www.desperateseller.co.uk/cheap-cars
83 83 Motoring Search One in 10 now buy a used car without seeing it first – Motoring Research http://www.motoringresearch.com/car-news/buy-used-car-without-seeing/
84 84 Wired Tech Magazine Hyundai’s Click To Buy lets you purchase a new car on your phone in less than five minutes http://www.wired.co.uk/article/hyundai-click-to-buy
85 85 ASM Autos Buy My Car – Online Car Buyers | ASM Auto Recycling http://www.asm-autos.co.uk/buy-my-vehicle/buy-my-car/
86 86 CNBC How to buy a car without leaving your house during the … http://www.cnbc.com/2020/04/07/how-to-buy-a-car-without-leaving-your-house.html
87 87 Alphabet Buying your car – Alphabet http://www.alphabet.com/en-gb/buying-your-car
88 88 Pershore Car Dealer Buying Online | Pershore Motor Group http://www.pershoremotorgroup.co.uk/buy-online/
89 89 Japanese TCV | Japanese best quality online used cars marketplace http://www.tc-v.com/
90 90 Car Max CarMax – Browse used cars and new cars online http://www.carmax.com/
91 91 We Buy Super Cars http://webuysupercars.com/ http://webuysupercars.com/
92 92 Hyundai Tech Magazine Hyundai’s Click To Buy lets you purchase a new car on your phone in less than five minutes http://www.wired.co.uk/article/hyundai-click-to-buy
93 93 Honest John How to buy a new or used car | Honest John http://www.honestjohn.co.uk/how-to-buy-a-new-or-used-car/
94 94 We buy cars for more WEBUYCARSFORMORE – sell your car in the North East today! http://www.webuycarsformore.com/
95 95 Unison Drive Unison Drive | UK car supermarket | used cars for sale http://www.unisondrive.org.uk/
96 96 Vroom Buy, Sell or Trade-In Pre-Owned Vehicles Online http://www.vroom.com/
97 97 Auto Rola Car Auction Online car auction – buy and sell cars http://www.autorola.co.uk/
98 98 Alphabet Buying your car – Alphabet http://www.alphabet.com/en-gb/buying-your-car
99 99 Bloomberg Newspaper Americans Return to Car Dealers, Thwarting … – Bloomberg http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2020-06-12/buying-a-car-online-is-easier-after-coronavirus-triggered-changes
100 100 Manchester Evening News Newspaper How to choose your dream car online, purchase it, and drive … http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/special-features/car-sales-company-bury-finance-17769536
101 2 Up Heycar Car Marketplace Find a car online | 1000s of cars for sale from trusted dealers https://heycar.co.uk/
103 4 Up Autotrader Car Marketplace Auto Trader UK – New and Used Cars For Sale https://www.autotrader.co.uk/
104 6 No Movement Cinch Car Marketplace Cars Without The Faff – cinch https://www.cinch.co.uk/
105 10 Up Motors.co.uk Car Marketplace Motors.co.uk – buy and sell nearly new & used cars simply https://www.motors.co.uk/
106 13 Up Carvago Car Marketplace Carvago.com | Online service – buying and selling used cars https://carvago.com/
107 14 Up Jardine Motors Car Dealer 8 Essential Tips for Buying a Car Online – Jardine Motors Group http://news.jardinemotors.co.uk/buying-tips/8-essential-tips-for-buying-a-car-online
108 17 Choose My Car Cheap Car Finance Deals – Find & Compare Used Cars Online http://www.choosemycar.com/
Rank Trend Name Type SEO Title Website Update

Overview of the list

Few on the list could be described as ‘traditional car dealers’ and only one Bristol Street Motors originally appeared in our league table in the coveted top ten. Evans Halshaw has recently moved up and entered the top ten. Lookers has moved up to position 18 from being outside the top 50.

The most prominent name on the list is the new entrant Cazoo who are looking to capture the nascent e-commerce market and disrupt the industry.

Other new players in the market (e.g. Cinch) have adopted a similar advertising strategy with the emphasis being on ‘easy way to buy a car online’ or ‘cars without the faff’ – but also offering the customer the ability to conduct as much of the transaction online as they feel comfortable with.

Two factors, ecommerce adoption and ease of purchase has allowed new entrants to provide a new offering. It is interesting how many of the top 100 car dealers website’s do not rank well for digital health.

If we look at the top 100 car dealers it is interesting to see their position in this list. The list does not show that many traditional car dealers. This could be because dealer groups target local geographic areas rather than UK wide.

One of the benefits of full ecommerce is that a dealer can sell to anyone in the country.

Traditional geographic markets may in the future be less rigid.

Whilst the move to e-commerce has accelerated it is also significant that in a recent poll of motorists only a fifth have bought a car unseen.

75% of motorists have never bought a car unseen and maintain that they never will in the future.

Articles on how to buy a car online

‘How to buy a car online‘ is an article from Autoexpress that gives a step by guide through the process.

10 tips on buying a car online

Buying a car online has become more popular and more accepted.

You can complete the whole transaction online (see Cazoo) or take the approach that many car dealers do and complete some of the transaction online but still ‘kick the tyres at the dealership.

The following are some great tips on buying a car online. 

Is it safe to buy a car online?

You can save a lot of shoe leather and time by browsing on your phone, PC or tablet.

 

If you would like to know more about how to get your car dealership to rank well in Google then get in touch.